In our room, I have been perfecting the single life since 1993 (aka the day I entered the world in my birthday suit). On the other hand, roomz has dated over half of her hometown, yet has had an unforeseeable dry-spell since coming to college. Of course after surviving freshman year, we know why. Freshman year, even though movies tell you everyone is going to find the love of their life within the first... ehhhh... week-or-so, should really be called the "Hook-Up Year". And if you aren't into that, and aren't lucky enough to find the one boy your age who isn't either, you're going to be single. Accept it. Although personally, being single Freshman year is probably one of the biggest blessings in my life. YOU. DO. NOT. KNOW. YOURSELF. that first year. Take time. Figure it out!
Anyhoo, that's a rant for another day. Back to our midnight convo the other night. I was explaining how it would be nice to even know what it feels like to have someone like you. To fall in love. [InsertMoreCheesePuffSayingsHere] Then this is what she said to me. "I think you need to "do you" for awhile. Go be stupid. Travel spontaneously. Do something absolutely crazy."
Now, little conservative me of course said, "I don't know HOW to be crazy." That's her point! Chances are I am going to date only one man-- mainly because I don't have time to waste on weenies who aren't going to be my husband, because I have no desire to casually date, and because I'm too picky. So when it's time to meet the one, date the one, and then *Here'sToHoping* marry the one, I want to be able to look back on these years with fond memories of me finding myself in the stupidest things.
So here's my challenge. It's small. I'm not going to start big. But for 14 days (and yes this includes Valentines day...) I am not going to say "Man, I'm so single." or "Gosh, why don't I have a boyfriend." or anything that could be categorized as the same! On top of that. I'm going to do one absolutely stupid thing that I've never done before.
.......honestly I'll let you know what it is once I've figured that out!
#WifeMe
No comments:
Post a Comment